GetResponse Pricing for AI Email Marketing: Plans, Costs and Trade-offs
For a small marketing team that wants one subscription covering newsletters, landing pages and signup forms, GetResponse is the first vendor to compare, with Starter at $19 a month billed monthly or $15.58 a month billed annually. The reason is the bundle: email, pages and forms sit in one account. The AI question needs separate checking, because the pricing information does not say which tier includes AI writing or how many uses it allows.
The Short Version
Starter, $19 a month billed monthly or $15.58 a month billed annually: unlimited monthly email sends, a welcome series, one automation workflow, landing pages and signup forms. Marketer, $59 monthly or $48.38 annually: unlimited workflows, advanced audience segmentation, abandoned-cart recovery and sales funnels. Creator, $69 monthly or $56.58 annually: adds webinars, a website builder, a course creator and premium newsletter subscriptions. GetResponse prices by list size, so the figure for your contact count is on its pricing page. There is no ongoing free plan, but a free trial is offered.
Who This Guide Is For
GetResponse attracts two different buyers. The first is a marketer who wants a single subscription for newsletters, landing pages, forms and, on the top tier, webinars and courses. The second is a product or SaaS team that wants lifecycle email triggered by account events. The first buyer often gets good value from GetResponse. The second should compare it with event-driven platforms before committing, because the feature ladder and list-size bands are built around campaigns rather than product events.
This page is written for the first buyer, with the AI question at the centre: which plan is worth paying for, what it costs at a realistic list size, and when another vendor is the better fit. Prices are those published on each vendor's pricing page, read on 7 October 2026. Where a vendor's page does not give a price for a given list size, this guide says so rather than estimating one.
If you want AI writing inside an all-in-one tool
You send newsletters or promotional campaigns, you need forms and landing pages in the same account, and you want help drafting copy without buying a separate writing product. Starter is the entry point. Before you rely on AI generation, confirm which tier includes it and how many uses that tier allows.
If your sequences need more than one workflow running at once, Marketer is the realistic plan. Planning for it from the start is cheaper than an unplanned upgrade in the middle of a launch.
If you run a product and need event-driven email
You need emails triggered by signups, trials, upgrades and cancellations, and you may want an AI agent layer on top. GetResponse's list-size bands and tier ladder make that harder to price. Customer.io and Loops are built around events and profiles, so they are usually the first vendors to compare for this case.
Use the cost table further down to price each option at the contact count you expect in a year.
How GetResponse Compares With Other Email Tools
The table below sets six vendors side by side on the question most buyers ask first: what is the cheapest plan that does the job, and what limits you from using it for longer. Prices are the figures on each vendor's pricing page, read on 7 October 2026. Where a page does not state a price for your list size, the table says so.
| Tool | Best for | Starting price (plan, billing) | Key limitation |
|---|---|---|---|
| GetResponse | One subscription for newsletters, landing pages and forms | Starter $19/mo billed monthly; $15.58/mo billed annually | Automation workflows need Marketer ($59/mo); AI allowance not stated in the pricing information |
| ActiveCampaign | Email with CRM and automation for sales-led teams | Starter $15/mo at 1,000 contacts | Advanced segmentation starts at Pro ($79/mo at 1,000 contacts) |
| Customer.io | Event-driven lifecycle email for products | Essentials $100/mo, billed monthly | Profile bands climb quickly: $145/mo at 10,000 profiles |
| Mailchimp | Small lists and simple campaigns | Free up to 250 contacts; Standard $20/mo at 500 contacts | Price steps by contact tier: $100/mo at 2,501–5,000 contacts |
| Omnisend | Online stores that want email, SMS and push | Free up to 250 contacts; Standard $11.20/mo at 500 contacts | Standard caps monthly emails; Pro ($41.30/mo at 2,500 contacts) gives unlimited emails |
| Loops | Early-stage SaaS sending product email | Early Stage free (up to 4,000 sends in any rolling 30 days) | Growing Audience is $99/mo for unlimited sends to subscribers |
Two pricing models show up in this table. Contact-based tools are inexpensive for small lists and become expensive once a database grows. Send-based or event-based tools stay predictable for a large list that is mailed rarely. Neither model is wrong. The usual mistake is choosing on the first-month price without checking the band you will sit in after a year.
GetResponse Plans: What Each One Does Well and Where It Falls Short
Starter
Starter is the cheapest GetResponse plan at $19 a month billed monthly, or $15.58 a month billed annually. It includes unlimited monthly email sends, a welcome series, one automation workflow, landing pages and signup forms. For a newsletter writer or a small shop running a single nurture sequence, that covers the basics. The limitation is the single workflow. As soon as you need a post-purchase sequence running alongside a win-back sequence, Starter stops being enough.
Do not assume Starter is where AI writing lives. The pricing information for this tier does not describe AI generation or a usage allowance, so ask GetResponse directly before you choose a plan for that reason.
Marketer
Marketer costs $59 a month billed monthly or $48.38 billed annually. It adds unlimited workflows, advanced audience segmentation, abandoned-cart recovery and sales funnels. Those features matter for an ecommerce business that needs a segment for each product line, or a course business that runs several sequences at once.
The cost of Marketer depends on list size. GetResponse prices its plans by contact band, so a larger list sits in a higher band on the same plan. Read the band on the pricing page for your count before you commit to an annual term.
Creator
Creator costs $69 a month billed monthly or $56.58 billed annually. It adds webinars, a website builder, a course creator and premium newsletter subscriptions. It suits someone who sells knowledge and wants email, the sales page, the course and the live session on one bill. It is a poor fit for a team that only needs email and automation, because most of what Creator adds sits outside email marketing.
Price: Starter $19 monthly or $15.58 annually; Marketer $59 or $48.38; Creator $69 or $56.58. The list-size band that applies to you is set on the pricing page. See GetResponse pricing.
ActiveCampaign: Email, Automation and a CRM
ActiveCampaign is the closest rival to GetResponse for teams that want email marketing, automation and a CRM in one product. Starter is $15 a month at 1,000 contacts and includes email marketing, marketing automation, standard CRM and ecommerce integrations. Plus, at $49 a month at the same contact count, adds standard segmentation and landing pages. Pro, at $79 a month, adds advanced segmentation. Enterprise, at $145 a month, adds premium segmentation and a dedicated account team.
It suits sales-led businesses that need the email history and the deal pipeline in one place. The limitation is the segmentation ladder: advanced segmentation means Pro, which costs more than five times the Starter price at the same contact count. The pricing information does not list AI writing features by tier, so confirm that before you compare the two vendors on AI alone. A free trial is offered.
Price: Starter $15, Plus $49, Pro $79 and Enterprise $145 a month at 1,000 contacts, billed monthly or annually at the same rate. See ActiveCampaign pricing.
Customer.io: Event-Driven Lifecycle Email With AI Agent Skills
Customer.io is built around events and profiles rather than lists and campaigns. It fits a product team that wants an email when someone signs up, starts a trial, reaches a feature or cancels. Essentials, at $100 a month billed monthly, includes AI Agent core skills, a visual workflow builder, email and community support and basic data integrations. Premium offers custom profile volume, elevated AI Agent limits and premium support, priced on request.
Profile bands rise steeply. Essentials is $145 a month at 10,000 profiles, $235 at 20,000, $325 at 30,000, $415 at 40,000 and $505 at 50,000 or more, all billed monthly. A product with many inactive accounts pays for every profile in the band, so count only the profiles you actually message. Eligible early-stage companies that have raised under $10M can receive 12 months free through the Startup Program.
Price: Essentials $100 a month billed monthly; profile bands from $145 at 10,000 profiles to $505 at 50,000 or more. See Customer.io pricing.
Mailchimp: Small Lists and a Free Tier
Mailchimp is the best-known name in this category and the simplest way to start for free. The free plan covers up to 250 contacts and 500 sends a month, with a maximum of 250 sends a day. Standard starts at $20 a month for the 500-contact tier, with up to 6,000 emails a month at that size. Above it, the price steps by contact tier: $100 a month for 2,501–5,000 contacts (up to 60,000 emails), $135 for 5,001–10,000 contacts (up to 120,000 emails) and $230 for 10,001–15,000 contacts (up to 180,000 emails).
Mailchimp suits a small list that gets simple campaigns. Its limitation is the step between tiers: a list that grows from 5,000 to 10,000 contacts moves up a band in one jump. The pricing information does not present AI writing as a separate line, so check the plan details before you buy for it. A 14-day Standard trial is listed.
Price: Free up to 250 contacts; Standard $20 a month at 500 contacts; $100 at 2,501–5,000 contacts; $135 at 5,001–10,000 contacts; $230 at 10,001–15,000 contacts. See Mailchimp pricing.
Omnisend: Email, SMS and Push for Online Stores
Omnisend is built for ecommerce. The free plan covers 250 contacts, 500 emails and 500 web push notifications a month. Standard is $11.20 a month for 500 contacts and 6,000 emails a month, shown with a first-three-month offer rate. Pro is $41.30 a month at 2,500 contacts and includes unlimited monthly emails, with SMS from $0.007 a message, varying by country and volume.
Omnisend suits a store that wants email, SMS and push in one account and expects heavy sending. The limitation is that Standard caps monthly emails, so a high-volume store needs Pro. SMS prices depend on country and volume, so estimate your own message count before you commit.
Price: Free for 250 contacts; Standard $11.20 a month at 500 contacts; Pro $41.30 a month at 2,500 contacts. See Omnisend pricing.
Loops: Product Email for Early-Stage SaaS
Loops is designed for software teams that send product and lifecycle email. The Early Stage plan is free. It allows up to 4,000 sends in any rolling 30 days to your 1,000 newest contacts, adds a Loops footer to messages and sends at up to 10 emails per second. The Growing Audience plan is $99 a month and allows unlimited sends to subscribers, with transactional sends to users outside your audience included.
Loops is a strong choice for a founding team that wants free sending while the list is small. The limitation is that the free plan caps sends and adds a footer, so the move to a paid plan often comes sooner than teams expect once product activity grows.
Price: Early Stage free with limits; Growing Audience $99 a month. See Loops pricing.
What It Costs at Real List Sizes
The table gives the published price for each vendor at the contact counts where the vendor states one. Where a page does not give a band for GetResponse, the cell says so. Use the table as a starting point, then confirm the band on the vendor's pricing page.
| Vendor | Plan | List size the price applies to | Monthly price | Annual billing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GetResponse | Starter | Band not stated in the pricing information; see pricing page | $19 | $15.58 a month |
| GetResponse | Marketer | Band not stated in the pricing information; see pricing page | $59 | $48.38 a month |
| GetResponse | Creator | Band not stated in the pricing information; see pricing page | $69 | $56.58 a month |
| ActiveCampaign | Starter | 1,000 contacts | $15 | $15 a month |
| ActiveCampaign | Pro | 1,000 contacts | $79 | $79 a month |
| Customer.io | Essentials | 10,000 profiles | $145 | Billed monthly only |
| Customer.io | Essentials | 30,000 profiles | $325 | Billed monthly only |
| Customer.io | Essentials | 50,000+ profiles | $505 and up | Billed monthly only |
| Mailchimp | Standard | 500 contacts | $20 | Not stated |
| Mailchimp | Standard | 5,001–10,000 contacts | $135 | Not stated |
| Omnisend | Pro | 2,500 contacts | $41.30 | Not stated |
| Loops | Growing Audience | Not stated | $99 | Not stated |
The GetResponse annual rates are worth working through. Starter billed annually comes to 12 × $15.58 = $186.96 a year, against 12 × $19 = $228 billed monthly, a difference of $41.04. Marketer billed annually comes to 12 × $48.38 = $580.56 a year, against 12 × $59 = $708, a difference of $127.44. Creator billed annually comes to 12 × $56.58 = $678.96 a year, against 12 × $69 = $828, a difference of $149.04. These differences apply to the published plan prices, so the annual discount is the same ratio at any list size the price applies to.
For a list of about 1,000 contacts, the lowest paid entry prices in this table are GetResponse Starter at $19 a month billed monthly and ActiveCampaign Starter at $15. At 10,000 profiles, Customer.io Essentials is $145 a month. At 5,001–10,000 contacts, Mailchimp Standard is $135 a month. The cheapest option depends on the job the platform must do, not on the list size alone.
Reading GetResponse's Price Against Your List
GetResponse prices in two dimensions. The first is list size: each plan has contact bands, and the price for a plan changes as your list moves between them. The second is the feature ladder. Starter, Marketer and Creator unlock different capabilities, so a team that needs automation pays for Marketer regardless of how small its list is. The paid plans are described with unlimited monthly sends, so the main cost driver is the number of contacts you store.
That matters for a database full of contacts who never open anything. A list of 20,000 stored contacts, of which 3,000 are active, sits in the 20,000 band as a whole. Removing inactive contacts before you choose a plan can move you into a lower band, which is often the largest saving available on any of these platforms.
When you read a GetResponse band on the pricing page, check three things: which plan the band applies to, whether it is the monthly or annual figure, and whether the page lists taxes or currency conversion separately. A price that looks small at 1,000 contacts can look very different once the list passes the next band.
What to Check Before You Pay for AI Features
AI features in email tools differ more than their names suggest. A subject-line helper, a full-email drafting tool and an agent that builds sequences are three separate products, and each may sit on a different plan. Before you buy for any of them, check the following on the vendor's pricing and product pages.
- Which plan includes it: AI is sometimes limited to a higher tier or sold as an add-on. Get the exact tier name.
- The allowance: some plans cap generations or agent actions. A cap of a few uses a month suits a trial, not a live workflow.
- Editing and approval: AI copy should be reviewed before it reaches customers. Check that the output is editable and that someone can approve it.
- The data it can read: an agent that cannot see purchase events, product usage or segment fields will write generic copy. Check which integrations the AI depends on.
- Consent and data handling: confirm how contact data is passed to any model provider, and whether your privacy notice covers it.
Among the vendors in this guide, the pricing information names AI most clearly for Customer.io, through AI Agent core skills on Essentials and elevated AI Agent limits on Premium. For GetResponse, ActiveCampaign, Mailchimp, Omnisend and Loops, the pricing information does not state AI writing by tier, so the AI question has to be settled with the vendor before you sign.
Which Tool to Pick: A Decision Table
Use this table to match your situation to a starting point. Each row names one vendor, the reason it fits and the main thing to check before you commit.
| If you need | Start with | Because | Check before you buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| Newsletters, landing pages and forms on one bill | GetResponse Starter, $19 monthly ($15.58 billed annually) | Email, pages and forms in one account at the lowest GetResponse entry price | AI allowance on Starter, and the band for your list |
| Several automation sequences running at once | GetResponse Marketer, $59 monthly ($48.38 billed annually) | Unlimited workflows, segmentation and abandoned-cart recovery | Whether you need funnels, and the band that applies to your list |
| Email with a CRM and sales pipeline | ActiveCampaign Starter, $15 at 1,000 contacts | Lowest paid entry price with CRM included | Whether you need advanced segmentation, which means Pro at $79 |
| Event-triggered emails for a SaaS product | Customer.io Essentials, $100 a month billed monthly | Event-driven workflows and AI Agent core skills included | Profile count; bands run from $145 at 10,000 profiles |
| Email and SMS for an online store | Omnisend Pro, $41.30 at 2,500 contacts | Unlimited monthly emails, with SMS on the same account | SMS price by country and volume |
| Free sending while the list is small | Loops Early Stage (free) or Mailchimp Free (up to 250 contacts) | No charge at small volumes | Send caps, the Loops footer, and when you will outgrow the free tier |
If two rows seem to fit, the deciding question is usually what triggers your email. Scheduled work, such as newsletters and campaigns, fits the GetResponse and Mailchimp model. Work triggered by product events, such as trials, purchases and cancellations, fits Customer.io and Loops more naturally.
Setup and Migration Checklist
Moving to a new email platform is where teams most often lose contacts, consent records or deliverability. The checklist below applies to GetResponse and to any other vendor in this guide.
| Step | What to do | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Export contacts | Export email address, consent status, tags, segments and signup source from the old platform | Consent records are the part you cannot rebuild once they are lost |
| 2. Clean the list | Remove hard bounces and contacts with no activity for a long period | Stored-contact pricing means dormant records can raise your band |
| 3. Authenticate the sending domain | Set up SPF, DKIM and DMARC for the new platform before the first send | Mailbox providers judge a new sender partly by its authentication |
| 4. Import a test segment | Start with an engaged segment of a few hundred contacts | Lets you check templates, links and automations before a full send |
| 5. Rebuild automations | Recreate each workflow in the new tool and test the trigger conditions | Triggers and tags rarely map one-to-one between platforms |
| 6. Confirm the plan band | Check the price for your contact count on the vendor's pricing page | Band prices change with list size and are the main budget risk |
| 7. Overlap, then cut over | Keep the old account active until the new one has sent to the full audience once | Avoids gaps in sending and leaves you a fallback |
Two details cause most migration problems. First, AI-generated templates often use merge fields that exist on one platform but not another, so rebuild them rather than copying them across. Second, a new platform starts with a fresh sending reputation, so begin with the most engaged segment and widen the audience across several sends.
How to Choose Between GetResponse and Its Rivals
- Start with the job, not the AI label. If you need newsletters, pages and forms in one account, GetResponse's bundle is the reason to look at it. If you need product-event emails, look at Customer.io or Loops first.
- Price the band you will reach in twelve months. Contact-based pricing makes today's list size the wrong number for planning.
- Pick the plan that unlocks your workflow. Automation workflows on GetResponse start at Marketer, so a budget built on Starter alone will undershoot.
- Confirm AI on the plan you buy. Get the tier name and the usage allowance in writing before you rely on AI features.
- Use annual billing once the plan is settled. GetResponse's annual rates are about 18% below its monthly prices, which is worth taking after a trial rather than before.
For more context on how vendors price their plans, see the pricing index. For other vendor guides, see Mailchimp, Omnisend, Customer.io, Loops and ActiveCampaign. The about page explains who writes these guides and how they are maintained.
Fine Print Before You Sign
Most cost surprises in email software come from the fine print rather than the headline price. Four items are worth checking on any GetResponse quote.
The first is the band. The prices in this guide are the published figures for each plan. Your actual price depends on your contact count on the day you buy, and it changes when the band changes. The second is the trial. A free trial is offered, but the pricing page is the place to confirm how long it lasts and what it includes. The third is currency and tax. Check how the charge appears on your invoice, especially if you pay in a currency other than US dollars. The fourth is the feature cut-off. Read the tier descriptions for workflows, segmentation and AI allowances, because a plan bought for one feature may not include the next one you need.
GetResponse Pricing and AI FAQs
How much does GetResponse cost?
The published monthly prices are $19 for Starter, $59 for Marketer and $69 for Creator. Billed annually, the per-month equivalents are $15.58, $48.38 and $56.58. GetResponse prices its plans by subscriber list size, so the figure for your contact count is on the official pricing page. A free trial is offered; no ongoing free plan is listed.
Does GetResponse include AI writing features?
The pricing information we can cite does not state which GetResponse tier includes AI writing or what the usage allowance is. Before you buy for AI, ask GetResponse which plan includes it, how many generations it allows, and whether the feature is available on the list size you will have in a year.
Which GetResponse plan do I need for automation?
Starter includes one automation workflow. Marketer adds unlimited workflows, advanced audience segmentation, abandoned-cart recovery and sales funnels, at $59 a month billed monthly or $48.38 a month billed annually. If you plan to run more than one sequence at a time, budget for Marketer from the start.
Which tool has the lowest paid entry price among these vendors?
GetResponse Starter at $19 a month billed monthly, or $15.58 billed annually, is the lowest GetResponse entry price. ActiveCampaign Starter is $15 a month at 1,000 contacts. Mailchimp and Loops have free plans with limits. Compare the price at the contact count you expect in twelve months, not the one you have today.
Is Customer.io worth it for a small SaaS?
It can be, if your emails depend on product events such as signups, trials, upgrades and cancellations. Essentials starts at $100 a month billed monthly and includes AI Agent core skills. Profile bands run from $145 at 10,000 profiles to $505 at 50,000 or more. Eligible early-stage companies that have raised under $10M can receive 12 months free through the Startup Program.
How do I move to a new email tool without losing contacts?
Export contacts with their consent status, tags and segment fields. Authenticate your sending domain on the new platform with SPF, DKIM and DMARC, import a small engaged segment first, and keep the old account active until the new one has sent to your full audience at least once.
Why does list size change the bill if I send only a few emails?
Most of the vendors compared here meter stored contacts or profiles rather than sends. A database full of dormant contacts can move you into a higher band even when you mail once a month. Clean inactive contacts before you choose a plan, and check the band on the pricing page of every vendor on your shortlist.