ActiveCampaign Pricing for AI-Assisted Email: Plans, Costs and Limits
ActiveCampaign is the best pick on this page for small and mid-size teams that want AI-assisted email, marketing automation and a standard CRM under one subscription. Its Starter plan is listed at $15 per month for 1,000 email contacts, and that plan already includes email marketing and marketing automation. This guide sets out what each of the four plans adds, how the price moves as your contact list grows, and where other email tools cost less or do less.
The Short Answer
Starter is listed at $15 per month for 1,000 contacts and includes email marketing, marketing automation, standard CRM and ecommerce integrations. Plus is $49 per month at the same starting size and adds standard segmentation and landing pages. Pro is $79 per month and adds advanced segmentation. Enterprise is $145 per month and adds premium segmentation and a dedicated account team. Those four figures are starting prices, so a list larger than 1,000 contacts will cost more on every plan.
Who This Guide Is For
This page is written for buyers who want AI help with email but do not want to assemble a stack of separate tools to get it. The right plan depends on who in your team sends the email, how many contacts you store and whether your sales process depends on contact records. The four audiences below map to the decisions that matter most.
Solo marketers and small teams
You need automation, a basic CRM and AI-assisted drafting without hiring an engineer. Starter is the plan to price first, because it already covers the core email and automation work.
Sales-led B2B teams
Your leads move through a pipeline and your marketing has to follow it. The step up to Plus adds segmentation and landing pages, and Pro adds advanced segmentation for more precise targeting.
Teams planning list growth
You expect your contact count to rise over the next year. Because every plan is priced against contacts, the growth curve matters more than the headline plan name.
Product teams sending triggered email
Your messages depend on in-app events and billing changes more than on campaign calendars. Event-based pricing tools may fit you better, and the comparison section below explains where.
What “AI” Should Mean on an Email Platform
The phrase “AI email marketing” covers several different jobs, and vendors use it loosely. Before you compare prices, separate the features you would actually use into four groups: drafting subject lines and body copy, choosing send times, suggesting audiences or segments, and summarising campaign results. Each group saves time in a different way, and each can be included in one plan and missing from another.
Drafting help is the feature most buyers mean when they say AI. It is useful for first drafts, variations for an A/B test and rewriting a long message into a short one. It does not replace a brand review, and it does not know your offer unless you give it the offer. A good test of any drafting tool is whether it can work from your product name, price and audience rather than generic phrasing.
Send-time and segment suggestions depend on the data you store. A platform with a clean, consented contact list can make better suggestions than one with years of inactive profiles. Summaries of results are most useful when they point to a decision, such as which subject line group to keep, rather than a long paragraph restating open rates.
Pricing and AI access are linked more often than vendors make obvious. Customer.io’s Essentials plan is listed with AI Agent core skills, and its Premium plan is listed with elevated AI Agent limits, which shows that the depth of AI access can change with the tier. ActiveCampaign describes content and copy assistance, but the pricing information does not show which assistance sits in which plan. Ask for that breakdown in writing before you assume a feature is included.
Comparing the Main Options on Price and Fit
The table below compares the five tools that come up most often when buyers look at ActiveCampaign. Prices are the starting figures on each vendor’s pricing page, with the plan name, the contact or send size it applies to and the billing view stated where the page gives one.
| Tool | Best for | Starting price (plan, billing) | Key limitation |
|---|---|---|---|
| ActiveCampaign | Small and mid-size teams that want email, automation and a CRM in one subscription | Starter at $15 per month, starting price at 1,000 contacts, same figure for monthly and annual billing | Price rises as contacts grow; the advanced segmentation sits in Pro |
| Mailchimp | Teams starting from a free plan with a small audience | Free plan for up to 250 contacts; Standard at $20 per month for the 500-contact selector, monthly billing | Free plan capped at 500 sends per month and 250 per day |
| Customer.io | Product teams sending messages triggered by in-app events | Essentials at $100 per month, monthly billing; 10,000-profile band at $145 per month | AI Agent limits are tied to the plan, and pricing rises with profiles and volume |
| Brevo | Teams that send by monthly volume and want a free starting tier | Free plan with 300 daily sends; Starter at $9 per month from 5,000 emails per month | The free plan’s daily send cap limits bursts of campaign mail |
| Loops | Subscription products that want subscriber-based pricing | Early Stage at $0, up to 4,000 sends in any rolling 30 days; Growing Audience at $99 per month | The free plan includes a Loops footer and sends only to the 1,000 newest contacts |
The table shows that the cheapest starting price is not the same as the cheapest plan for your list. A free plan with a small audience can cost nothing today and become expensive once you pass its limits, while a plan with a higher starting price can include the segmentation and automation you would otherwise buy later.
What the Listed Prices Cost at Realistic List Sizes
Starting prices are only useful when you know which list size they apply to. The table below lists each published figure with its contact or send band, so you can see the scale each price covers. Where a vendor does not publish a price for the size you need, the table says so rather than estimating one.
| Vendor and plan | List size the price applies to | Price | Billing view and inclusion |
|---|---|---|---|
| ActiveCampaign Starter | 1,000 contacts (starting price) | $15 per month | Monthly and annual shown at the same figure; email marketing, automation, standard CRM |
| ActiveCampaign Plus | 1,000 contacts (starting price) | $49 per month | Standard segmentation and landing pages |
| ActiveCampaign Pro | 1,000 contacts (starting price) | $79 per month | Advanced segmentation |
| ActiveCampaign Enterprise | 1,000 contacts (starting price) | $145 per month | Premium segmentation and a dedicated account team |
| ActiveCampaign, larger lists | Above 1,000 contacts | Pricing on request | Price scales with contact count; confirm the figure for your list on the pricing page |
| Mailchimp Free | Up to 250 contacts | $0 | 1 audience, up to 500 sends per month and 250 per day |
| Mailchimp Standard | 500 contacts (default selector) | $20 per month | Monthly billing; up to 6,000 emails per month at that selector |
| Mailchimp contact band | 2,501–5,000 contacts | $100 per month | Monthly; up to 60,000 emails per month |
| Mailchimp contact band | 5,001–10,000 contacts | $135 per month | Up to 120,000 emails per month |
| Customer.io Essentials | 10,000 profiles | $145 per month | Billed monthly; includes AI Agent core skills and the visual workflow builder |
| Customer.io Essentials | 20,000 profiles | $235 per month | Billed monthly |
| Customer.io Essentials | 50,000+ profiles | From $505 per month | Billed monthly; shown as a starting figure |
| Brevo Starter | From 5,000 emails per month | $9 per month | No daily sending limit on this plan |
| Loops Growing Audience | Subscriber-based; band not stated on the listing | $99 per month | Unlimited sends to subscribers; transactional sends included |
The gaps in the table are deliberate. ActiveCampaign publishes its starting prices at 1,000 contacts, so a 5,000-contact or 10,000-contact quote has to come from the vendor. Mailchimp’s contact bands are the clearest way to compare that tool at mid-size lists, and Customer.io’s profile bands show how its cost changes as the number of profiles grows.
To make the ActiveCampaign figures concrete, the annual cost of each published plan at its 1,000-contact starting size is simple arithmetic. Starter costs 12 × $15 = $180 a year. Plus costs 12 × $49 = $588 a year. Pro costs 12 × $79 = $948 a year. Enterprise costs 12 × $145 = $1,740 a year. Those totals exclude any contacts above the starting band, so add the larger-list quote before you compare them with another vendor’s annual figure.
ActiveCampaign Plan by Plan
Each ActiveCampaign plan adds a specific set of capabilities. The plan you need depends less on how much you send and more on how precisely you need to target people and whether you need a dedicated account team. The sections below cover what each plan does well for an AI-assisted email workflow, where it stops short and where to find the price.
Starter: $15 per month at 1,000 contacts
Starter is the entry point for a team that wants email, automation and a basic CRM in one place. Its listed inclusions are email marketing, marketing automation, standard CRM and ecommerce integrations. For a solo marketer, that covers the work most teams start with: a welcome sequence, a re-engagement message for inactive contacts and a simple newsletter. AI drafting help is the feature to test first on this plan, because copy is the task you do most often.
Where Starter falls short is segmentation. The listing describes standard tools here, and the advanced segmentation sits in Pro. If your campaigns depend on fine-grained audience rules, you will hit that limit quickly. Starter is also priced against 1,000 contacts at its starting point, so a growing list moves the bill upward even on the same plan.
Price and details: ActiveCampaign’s pricing page.
Plus: $49 per month at 1,000 contacts
Plus adds standard segmentation and landing pages to the Starter set. For a team that needs to split its audience by behaviour and run a sign-up page without a separate tool, that is a practical step. The cost difference from Starter is $34 per month at the starting size, which comes to 12 × $34 = $408 a year, so the question is whether the segmentation and landing pages replace a tool you would otherwise pay for.
Plus does not include the advanced segmentation that the listing assigns to Pro. Teams that find themselves building workarounds for audience rules should price Pro before they assume Plus is enough. Plus also shares the same contact-based scaling, so the cost of a larger list applies here too.
Price and details: ActiveCampaign’s pricing page.
Pro: $79 per month at 1,000 contacts
Pro is the plan for segmentation-heavy work. Its listed inclusion is advanced segmentation, and that matters for an AI-assisted workflow because AI suggestions are only as good as the audience they are given. A precise segment lets a drafting or send-time suggestion work on the right people. The step up from Plus is $30 per month at the starting size, or 12 × $30 = $360 a year.
The limitation of Pro is that it is still priced per contact, so a team with a large inactive archive pays for those records as well. Before choosing Pro for its segmentation, clean your list and decide which inactive contacts you would remove or suppress. That decision changes the price more than most feature comparisons do.
Price and details: ActiveCampaign’s pricing page.
Enterprise: $145 per month at 1,000 contacts
Enterprise adds premium segmentation and a dedicated account team. It suits organisations that want vendor support for a larger programme, with someone to help set up the account and the data model. The starting price is $145 per month, and the annual cost at that starting point is 12 × $145 = $1,740.
Enterprise is not the right plan for a small team that only needs drafting help. The dedicated account team has real value when the programme is complex, but a small list gets little from it. Ask what the account team covers, how often you would meet and whether that support is included in the figure you are quoted.
Price and details: ActiveCampaign’s pricing page.
Other Tools Worth Pricing Against ActiveCampaign
No single tool is the cheapest or the most capable for every email job. The four alternatives below are the ones buyers most often compare with ActiveCampaign, and each one is strongest in a different situation. The pricing details come from each vendor’s published page, and the links go to the full guides on this site.
Mailchimp: a free starting point with contact-band pricing
Mailchimp suits a team that wants to start with no monthly cost and a small audience. Its free plan covers up to 250 contacts and 500 sends per month, with a maximum of 250 sends per day. For a new newsletter that is a reasonable place to begin, and the upgrade path is clear: Standard is listed at $20 per month for the 500-contact selector, with up to 6,000 emails per month at that size.
The limitation is the cap. A team that grows past 250 contacts or 500 monthly sends has to move to a paid band, and at 2,501–5,000 contacts the listed price is $100 per month. Compare that band directly with ActiveCampaign’s pricing at your own contact count before assuming Mailchimp is cheaper at scale. Full details are in the Mailchimp pricing guide.
Customer.io: strongest for event-triggered product email
Customer.io is the tool to price when your email depends on what people do inside a product. Its Essentials plan is listed at $100 per month with monthly billing and includes AI Agent core skills, a visual workflow builder and basic data integrations. Its Premium plan is listed with elevated AI Agent limits and custom profile volume. For a product team sending messages on events, that focus is the point.
The limitation is that cost follows profiles and volume. Essentials is $145 per month at 10,000 profiles, $235 at 20,000 and $325 at 30,000. The pricing page also states that eligible early-stage companies can receive 12 months free through its Startup Program, and that applies only to companies that meet its criteria. Read the full list of conditions before you plan around it. More detail is in the Customer.io pricing guide.
Brevo: a free tier with daily limits and volume pricing
Brevo is a practical choice for a team that sends by volume and wants a free starting tier. The free plan includes 300 daily email sends and storage for up to 100,000 contacts. Starter is listed at $9 per month from 5,000 emails per month, with no daily sending limit on that plan. For a team that sends in large bursts, the removal of the daily cap is the main difference between the free plan and the paid one.
The limitation is that the free plan’s daily cap does not suit campaign launches or large promotions. Check how your sending pattern fits the daily cap before you rely on the free plan. More detail is in the Brevo pricing guide.
Loops: subscriber-based pricing for subscription products
Loops prices by subscribers rather than by every contact record, which matters for a subscription product with a clear audience. Its Early Stage plan is listed at $0 with up to 4,000 sends in any rolling 30 days, and its Growing Audience plan is listed at $99 per month with unlimited sends to subscribers and transactional sends to users outside the audience. For a product that wants clean subscriber pricing, that structure is simple to model.
The limitation is the free plan’s constraints. It sends only to the 1,000 newest contacts within the 4,000-send window and includes a Loops footer in messages. A team that needs to remove the footer or email a larger archive has to move to a paid plan. More detail is in the Loops pricing guide.
Which Tool to Pick for Your Situation
The decision table below connects a common need to the tool that fits it and the reason it fits. Use it as a starting filter, then confirm the price at your contact count.
| If you need | Pick | Because |
|---|---|---|
| Email, automation and a CRM in one subscription | ActiveCampaign Starter or Plus | Starter includes email marketing, automation and standard CRM; Plus adds segmentation and landing pages |
| Precise audience rules for AI-suggested segments | ActiveCampaign Pro | Advanced segmentation is listed in Pro and not in Starter or Plus |
| A free start with a small audience | Mailchimp Free | Covers up to 250 contacts and 500 sends per month at no cost |
| Messages triggered by in-app events | Customer.io Essentials | Includes a visual workflow builder and AI Agent core skills, priced by profiles |
| Volume sending with a free tier and no daily cap on paid plans | Brevo Starter | Starter is $9 per month from 5,000 emails per month with no daily sending limit |
| Subscriber-based pricing for a subscription product | Loops Growing Audience | Unlimited sends to subscribers at $99 per month, with transactional sends included |
| Dedicated vendor support for a complex programme | ActiveCampaign Enterprise | Listed with a dedicated account team and premium segmentation at $145 per month from 1,000 contacts |
The table is a filter, not a verdict. A team with a large inactive archive may find that the cheapest option is a clean-up project rather than a new plan, and a team with a small, engaged audience may find that the free tier of any vendor covers the first year.
How to Choose Between These Plans
Start with the work you do every week. If most of your time goes into writing and scheduling campaigns, the drafting help and the automation on Starter matter most. If most of your time goes into deciding who gets which message, the segmentation on Plus or Pro matters more. Decide which of those two jobs takes longer, and let that drive the plan choice.
Then look at your contact count honestly. Include inactive contacts, because most per-contact pricing counts them. A list of 4,000 records where 3,000 have not opened an email in a year is priced as a 4,000-contact list. Clean the list first, then price the plan against the contacts you actually want to email.
Finally, decide how much the CRM matters. ActiveCampaign’s standard CRM is included from Starter, which can replace a separate contact tool for a small team. If you already have a CRM that your sales team uses, paying for a second one inside an email platform is a cost to question, not a default.
Ask for the AI feature list in writing before you sign. Confirm which drafting, optimisation and reporting features are in the plan you are buying, whether any usage cap applies and whether the feature is available on the list size you will reach in the next year.
Setting Up or Migrating to ActiveCampaign
Moving email to a new platform is mostly a data exercise, and the mistakes that cost the most are about consent and history rather than features. Before you buy, confirm that the contacts you plan to import have a clear record of consent and that you can export tags, fields and subscription status from your current tool. Without those, the import will either fail or bring in people you should not be emailing.
| Step | What to do | Done when |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Export contacts | Export contacts with consent status, tags, custom fields and subscription history from the current tool | The export count matches the source tool’s active count |
| 2. Clean the list | Remove invalid addresses and decide what to do with inactive contacts before importing them | Only contacts you are permitted to email are in the import file |
| 3. Map fields and tags | Match each source field to an ActiveCampaign field and rename tags that mean the same thing | A sample of 20 records shows the right values in the right fields |
| 4. Rebuild the core automations | Recreate the welcome sequence, the re-engagement message and any transactional-style notices you send as campaigns | Each automation has been reviewed once end to end |
| 5. Draft and review AI copy | Use the AI drafting features for first versions, then check each message against your brand and offer | Every message has a named human reviewer who has signed it off |
| 6. Check sending authentication | Confirm the sending domain is set up for authentication before the first live campaign | The sending domain passes the checks your email provider requires |
| 7. Run the systems side by side | Keep the old tool running for a short overlap while the new one sends its first campaigns | Several campaigns have gone out cleanly from the new system |
| 8. Retire the old account carefully | Keep the old account readable for a set period so you can retrieve historical data if needed | The historical data you need has been exported and stored |
Build the automations before you import the full list. Test a small group of internal addresses first, then a small segment of consenting contacts, and only then the full list. The order matters because a broken welcome sequence sent to a large list is hard to recall.
Budget time for the migration as well as the subscription. The subscription is the visible cost, but rebuilding automations and checking data usually takes longer than the import. A team that plans for two to four weeks of internal time avoids the common mistake of switching on a half-built setup.
Budgeting for Contact Growth
The biggest budget surprise on any per-contact plan is growth you did not model. A list that grows from 1,000 to 3,000 contacts is not three times the cost of a 1,000-contact list on every vendor, because each vendor’s bands are different. Ask each vendor for the price at your projected contact count in twelve months, not just at today’s size.
For ActiveCampaign, that means asking for a quote above the 1,000-contact starting point. For Mailchimp, the contact bands make the next step visible: 2,501–5,000 contacts is $100 per month on the listing. For Customer.io, the profile bands run from $145 at 10,000 profiles to $235 at 20,000. For Loops, growth in subscribers is what moves the cost on a subscription product.
Annual billing can change the total, but the figures on the ActiveCampaign listing show the same monthly price for monthly and annual billing. Check the pricing page for any annual discount before you assume one, and calculate the total for the term you plan to use.
ActiveCampaign Pricing FAQs
How much does ActiveCampaign cost to start?
The Starter plan is listed at $15 per month, which is the starting price at 1,000 email contacts. Plus is $49 per month, Pro is $79 per month and Enterprise is $145 per month, each at the same starting point. Larger contact counts cost more.
Does ActiveCampaign have a free plan?
No ongoing free plan is listed. A free trial is listed, but its length is not stated in the pricing information, so read the current trial terms on ActiveCampaign’s pricing page before you start.
Which ActiveCampaign plan includes AI writing help?
ActiveCampaign describes content and copy assistance as part of its email offer. The pricing information does not break out which assistance is in each plan, so ask for the current feature list for the plan you are buying, in writing.
How does ActiveCampaign pricing change as my list grows?
Every plan is priced against contacts. The published figures apply to 1,000 contacts, and larger lists are quoted separately. Model your contact count for the next 12 to 24 months, including inactive contacts, because the price follows the records you store.
Is ActiveCampaign cheaper than Mailchimp or Customer.io?
It depends on list size and the work you need. Mailchimp’s Standard plan is listed at $20 per month for 500 contacts, and its free plan covers up to 250 contacts. Customer.io prices by profiles and volume, so it can cost more for event-heavy product email at scale. Compare the price at your own contact count and sending pattern.
What should I do before moving to ActiveCampaign from another tool?
Export contacts with consent status and tags, map the fields, rebuild your most important automations, confirm your sending domain is set up for authentication, and run the old and new systems side by side until several campaigns have gone out cleanly. Keep the old account readable for a set period in case you need historical data.